PALA Update header

See all news items.

PALA Join Us header

Find out more about the benefits of being a PALA member & join for this year! Join us.

PALA Ambassadors

Are you interested in making contact with other PALA members in your country or region? Can you help to spread the word about the benefits of PALA membership to your colleagues and postgraduate students? Would you like to organize or attend local PALA events? If so, consider becoming a PALA Ambassador. The aim of the PALA Ambassadors scheme is to encourage communication and interaction between PALA members on a local and/or regional level. There are many ways in which Ambassadors can facilitate the development of local PALA networks, from simply serving as a first contact point for news and events of PALA interest within a particular region, to organizing small-scale events (symposia, conferences, or purely social get-togethers). PALA student members are especially welcome to get involved. Interested PALA members should contact the publicity officer, Andrea Macrae.

The recently-launched PALA ambassadors scheme has already established the following network:

Region Name Email Address
Australia Dwi Noverini Djenar novi.djenar@sydney.edu.au
China Zhao Kuiying sszhaoky@yahoo.com.cn
China (Hong Kong) Marjorie Ka-Yee Cheung & Peter Crisp marjorie.cheung@sheffield.ac.uk; pcrisp@e.cuhk.edu.hk
Denmark Nina Nørgaard noergaard@language.sdu.dk
Egypt Wesam Ibrahim weselmasry@yahoo.com
France Manuel Jobert manuel.jobert@wanadoo.fr
Germany and Switzerland Beatrix Busse beatrix.busse@ens.unibe.ch
Iraq Mohammed Jasim Betti al_seady@yahoo.com
Italy John Douthwaite j.douthw@virgilio.it; j.douthw@gmail.com
Latin America Olivia Fialho ofialho@ualberta.ca
Malaysia Mazura Muhammad mazuramastura@yahoo.com
Namibia Sarala Krishnamurthy skrishnamurthy@polytechnic.edu.na
Netherlands Suzanne Fagel and Maarten van Leeuwen s.v.fagel@hum.leidenuniv.nl; m.van.leeuwen@hum.leidenuniv.nl
Portugal Alcina Sousa ninita@netmadeira.com
Scotland Agnes Marsalek a.marszalek.1@research.gla.ac.uk
Slovenia Simon Zupan & Tomaž Onič simon.zupan@uni-mb.si; tomaz.onic@uni-mb.si
Spain Coral Calvo Maturana coralcm@ugr.es
Sweden Ulf Cronquist ulf.cronquist@spray.se
UK (Midlands) Emma Moreton Emma.Moreton@coventry.ac.uk
UK (Yorkshire) Marjorie Ka-Yee Cheung marjorie.cheung@sheffield.ac.uk
USA (Eastern) Jennifer Harding jharding@washjeff.edu
USA (Western) Chantelle Warner warnerc@email.arizona.edu
Venezuela Elida León elidaleon@yahoo.com